Mknac’s Weblog

Diving into the shallow pool of Web 2.0 and Social Media head first!

Glasses?

My new glasses

My new glasses

Well I received my first pair of glasses today.  It appears that I have simple myopia / Low myopia / Late adult onset.  What does this mean?  Essentially I’m near sighted (things far away look blurry), it’s not bad <3.00D, and occurred after I was 40 years old.  In myopia the eye focuses in front of the retina.

Of course there are some good and bad things.  First I can see again!   I can’t wait for the Ravens vs Titans game tomorrow; the players won’t be blurry.  My HD TV even looks better with glasses on.  And according to the Myopia entry on Wikipedia people with myopia are likely to be smarter than those without.  “A number of studies have shown that the prevalence of myopia increases with level of education[41][38] and many studies have shown a relationship between myopia and IQ.”  Sure glad I’m not one of those dummies with hyperopia when the eye’s focus point is behind the retina.

Glasses are expensive!!!  Somebody please explain to me why my Ralph Lauren frames cost twice has much as the lenses?   This is completely out of control.  There is absolutely no way that frame manufacturers are investing more expense into designing, manufacturing and selling frames than what goes into the actual lenses.  I do not believe that.

//en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myopia#cite_note-AOA-7

Compensating for myopia using a corrective lens. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myopia#cite_note-AOA-7

Yes I know I bought expensive designer frames.  But all the frames in the store were within $10-$20 of each other.  Unless you went for like the $100 frames then you really could see the difference between the expensive frames and the cheaper ones.  In any event this frame vs lenses pricing system is completely backwards.  There is no way that frames should be more expensive than lenses.

Also on the bad side I’ve never worn glasses before in my life.  This is going to be a major lifestyle change.  I asked about laser surgery and my doctor said I was a candidate for it but if they fixed my myopia with surgery I’d be wearing glasses to read and see things close up.  Either way it looks like I’m stuck with glasses so why risk the surgery if you can’t get ride of the glasses altogether?  Well I’m glad I can see again.  Highway signs haven’t looked this good in a long time.

October 5, 2008 - Posted by | social media | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

